Flexagons

Flexagon Flexagon Flexagon Flexagon
Deutsch | English | Links

Flexagons a quite interesting things: a kind of card with four sides, and you can flip from one side to the other, back and forth.
But to better understand what Flexagons are, how they work and how you can make one for yourself take a look at the Flexagon page.
On the photos you see the four pages of my first (and up until now last) flexagon. (Click on thumbnails to see the photos.)
It doesn’t work so well, because it is to bulky:
I made them from cardboard to make them lasting longer, glued then cotton on to the cardboard, because I thought that fabric would bend better if you flip them over and over and then glued on the pieces of my hand-embroidered and tape-transfered collages on the appropriate places.
Next time I will see to it that they get slender.
But anyhow: I love my flexagon ;-))


Flexagone sind interessante Dinger: eine Art Karte mit vier Seiten, die man um und um klappen kann, vor und zurück.
Aber um besser zu verstehen, was Flexagone sind, wie sie funktionieren und wie man selbst eines machen kann, sollte man besser auf der Flexagon Seite gucken.
Auf den Fotos sieht man die vier Seiten meines ersten (und bis jetzt letzten) Flexagons. (Auf die Vorschaubilder klicken, um die Fotos zu sehen.)
Es funktioniert nicht so gut, weil es zu dick geworden ist:
Ich habe es aus Pappe gemacht, damit es länger hält, dann mit Baumwolle beklebt, weil ich dachte, dass Stoff sich besser verbiegt, wenn man es immer wieder um- und umklappt und dann die Teile meiner handbestickten und kaltlaminierten Collagen an die entsprechenden Stellen geklebt.
Nächstes Mal würde ich es dünner machen.
Trotzdem: Ich mag mein Flexagon ;-)


Links:
Flexagons – Flexagone

And if you want to embroider your collages – Und wenn Sie Ihre Collagen besticken möchten:
English Embroidery Stitch DiagramsDeutsche Stickstichbeschreibungen
(see also Paper Crazy Quilt – s. dazu auch Papier Crazy Quilt)

If you want to know more about image transfers – Wenn Sie mehr über Bildtransfers wissen möchten:
Easy Photo Transfers (different techniques) – Einfache Fototransfers (verschiedene Methoden)
Image Transfer – Bildtransfer
Packing Tape Image Transfers – Kaltlaminat-Bildtransfer
(see also Artist Book – s. dazu auch Künstler-Buch)


About me – Über mich

For a certain time I crafted like mad - and found a great deal of websites with fantastic tutorials. Now I'd like to share. Have fun! Susann

Ich habe geraume Zeit wie verrückt gebastelt und Handarbeiten gemacht - und in dieser Zeit Berge von Websites mit fantastischen Anleitungen gefunden. Die möchte ich jetzt teilen. Viel Spass! Susann

From me, too – Auch von mir:

Maze pattern generator
Generate your own maze template or...
Cellular automaton pattern generator
...generate your own pattern template or...
Random squares pattern generator
...generate your own random squares template...
...for knitting, crochet, embroidery, knotting, stamping... (read how this works)

Labyrinthmuster-Generator
Erstell' Deine eigene Labyrinthvorlage oder...
Zellularautomat-Mustergenerator
...erstell' Deine eigene Mustervorlage oder...
Zufallsquadrat-Mustergenerator
...erstell' Deine eigene Zufallsquadrat­vorlage...
...zum stricken, häkeln, sticken, knoten, stempeln und und und... (lies, wie das geht)

Categories – Kategorien

:unikatissima: Stats

  • 252,777 views - Besuche

:unikatissima: Calendar – Kalender

Archives – Archiv

Featured

Inspirational
 
 

